Books

The spy who came in from the cold

Book by John Le Carre

After hearing so much about this book, and in a mood for a spy week (blog post on ‘Tinker, Tailor…’ to follow), I decided to give it a go.

Conclusion? I should try in the future not to build huge expectations around a book coming from an author I’m not yet familiar with – and also to find out whether what I’m about to read really is what I’m looking for.

I’d imagined I’d be amazed come the last words and it’s fair to say I was left quite disappointed. It is indeed very clever writing and it does keep you captivated. However, something is missing. I expected more action but things only really start moving when we discover that Leamas and Mundt are on the same side. And even then, the finale is pretty predictable.

Or maybe I’ve become too big a fan of spy books & movies with action at every corner, Jason Bourne-like. I think I will give Mr Le Carre another shot though, and get one of his other titles from Waterstone’s tomorrow. Maybe I need to become familiar with the genre. So far, we have a 5/10.

 

About jeromefox

'Frenglish' PR consultant. Love the creative, quirky, unusual. Anything to do with food & drink (wine, cocktails, spirits - NO VK/WKD and other rubbish allowed!!!). Will talk about anything but mostly travelling (the farther the better), sports, books & movies (oldies are the best!). Equally passionate about cultural differences & other languages. Thrive on extreme sensations and new experiences. Always a fan of challenging people and opinions.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Join 4 other followers

Topics

Archives

