Movies

Movie review: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

 

Movie by Tomas Alfredson

Wow! It had been a long time since I last went to the cinema and thought of living the room before the end of the movie. I think we’re talking ‘Lions for Lambs’ back in 2008 or maybe ‘Twilight New Moon’ more recently. This is pretty much what came through my mind – and plenty other people’s – when watching Tinker Tailor…

I am a huge fan of Gary OIdman and spy movies, and I must say I wasn’t impressed by the acting of the Brit legend nor was I by the direction of Mr Alfredson. A lot of very short scenes, too many characters to count, the intrigue is ‘explained’ in two sentences…Not convinced.

Same as for ‘The Spy who…’ (book), maybe I just need to adapt to the genre. Yes, it is a spy movie, but very different from the James Bond & Jason Bourne sagas to which I’ve become accustomed to. This, is the old school of spy movies.

Not sure whether Mr Alfredson plans to adapt any other of Le Carre’s books, but weirdly, I’d quite like to spend another £9 on it. In the meantime, I’ll have a go at the 50s/60s versions.

Verdict: 3/10.

About jeromefox

'Frenglish' PR consultant. Love the creative, quirky, unusual. Anything to do with food & drink (wine, cocktails, spirits - NO VK/WKD and other rubbish allowed!!!). Will talk about anything but mostly travelling (the farther the better), sports, books & movies (oldies are the best!). Equally passionate about cultural differences & other languages. Thrive on extreme sensations and new experiences. Always a fan of challenging people and opinions.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Join 4 other followers

Topics

Archives

